National Monitoring Network

National Monitoring Network of the quantitative and qualitative status of surface water and groundwater.

After a long period of discussions with the competent bodies the National Monitoring Network of the quantitative and qualitative status of water was (re)formed through the JMD 140384/2011 “Designation of the National Monitoring Network of the quality and the quantity of waters with definition of the measurement points (stations) and the bodies liable for their operation, according to article 4, paragraph 4 of L.3199/2003 (A’ 280)”.

The National Monitoring Network includes 449 monitor stations in rivers, 53 stations in lakes, 34 in transitional waters, 80 in coastal waters and 1392 stations in groundwater bodies (total number of stations: 2008, from which 616 are in surface water bodies and 1392 in groundwater bodies). Stations are divided into surveillance stations and operational stations. Stations are divided into two categories: Surveillance and operational. Surveillance stations operate in water bodies of good status for a certain period of time (one year), while operational stations run continuously on water bodies which fail to achieve good status (i.e. an operational station may be characterized a surveillance station if the status of the system is improved and has reached a good status).

The reformed National Monitoring Network meets fully the requirements of the Water Framework Directive (2000/60/EC) (Article 8 and Annex V), as well as the Directives on nitrate pollution from agricultural sources (91/676/EEC), for groundwater (2006/118/EC) and for priority substances (2008/105/EC).

The following bodies undertake the operation of the Network under the supervision of the Special Secretariat for Water according to the aforementioned JMD 140384/2011: